Welcome to our website   

The Crawford County Soil and Water Conservation District, a unit of local government, is a legal subdivision of State Government responsible under state law for leadership in the conservation and development of soil, water, and related resources in the county.  It is an independent body formed under and subject only to the Indiana Soil & Water Conservation District Law.  It is governed by five supervisors from Crawford County-two appointed and three elected.  

The Crawford County Soil and Water Conservation District was organized in 1948 by a referendum vote of county landowners according to and under the provisions of Indiana Soil Conservation Act of 1937.

Farmers in Crawford County recognized the need to apply new and proven soil conservation practices to prevent erosion and conserve the soil, water, and related land resources.  A referendum voting was held in 1948 with 1,654 votes cast and 98.4% of these were in favor of forming a District.


Our Mission:  The Crawford County Soil and Conservation District will provide guidance, coordination and technical assistance through and effective conservation program that educates and assists the public, land users and local units of government in sustaining our soil, water and related natural resources.



 Upcoming Events  

2016 Board Meetings


January 25 at 7 pm

February 22 at 7 pm

March 28 at 7 pm

April 25 at 7 pm

May 23 at 7 pm

June 27 at 7 pm

July (No meeting)

August 22 at 7 pm

September 26 at 7 pm

October 24 at 7 pm

November 28 at 7 pm

December (TBA)



 The 67th Annual Meeting of the Crawford County Soil and Water Conservation District will be held on Saturday, February 6 at 8 am at the Crawford County High School Cafeteria.  



© 2011 Crawford County SWCD 306 Oak Hill Circle PO Box 100 English, In 47118  812-338-3224







Crawford County Soil and Water Conservation District